Register to Subscribe

Home arrow News arrow Business News arrow Kamal Nath to lead 85-member Indian Delegation to WEF’s Davos meet
Kamal Nath to lead 85-member Indian Delegation to WEF’s Davos meet Print E-mail
Written by Vijay   
Wednesday, 28 January 2009
Theme focuses on “Shaping the Post-Crisis World”

An 85-member strong CII delegation from India will participate in the World Economic Forum’s Annual Meeting in Davos-Klosters, Switzerland, from 28 January-1 February 2009. The delegation comprises high-ranking Government Officials, CEOs of major Indian companies, Media and Civil Society representatives. The Commerce and Industry Minister, Mr Kamal Nath, will lead the delegation.

The Indian contingent is part of the over 2500 participant-strong community that will include a record 41 heads of state or government, key finance, foreign, trade and energy ministers, along with religious, media and cultural leaders, social entrepreneurs and heads of non-governmental organizations from 96 countries

Apart from looking at the immediate crisis and ways to stabilize and relaunch the global economy, the Annual Meeting programme also pinpoints a number of interrelated global risks including climate change, food and water security. The Meeting’s programme will follow six programmatic tracks that are high on the global agenda in 2009. These include Promoting Stability in the Financial System and Reviving Global Economic Growth; Ensuring Effective Global, Regional and National Governance for the Long Term; Addressing the Challenges of Sustainability and Development; Shaping the Values and Leadership Principles for a Post-Crisis World; Catalysing the Next Wave of Growth through Innovation, Science and Technology; and Understanding the Implications on Industry Business Models.

Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao, Russian Prime Minister Vladimir Putin, Federal Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom Gordon Brown; and Premier Taro Aso of Japan will address participants at sessions of the Meeting.

Mr Anand Mahindra, Vice-Chairman and Managing Director, Mahindra & Mahindra, will Co-Chair the Meeting, along with Kofi Annan, Secretary-General, United Nations (1997-2006); Stephen Green, Group Chairman, HSBC Holdings, UK; Rupert Murdoch, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, News Corporation, USA; Maria Ramos, Group Chief Executive, Transnet, South Africa; Jeroen van der Veer, Chief Executive, Royal Dutch Shell Plc and Werner Wenning, Chairman of the Board of Management, Bayer, Germany.

Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission, Dr Montek Singh Ahluwalia; Science and Technology Minister Kapil Sibal and Civil Aviation Minister Praful Patel will also participate in the programme. Noted actor Amitabh Bachchan and danseuse Mallika Sarabhai will receive the Crystal Award and Vishwanathan Anand Chess Grandmaster and Current World Champion will also participate.

36 members of the Indian delegation will join the discussions in around 40 sessions over the four days to lend an important Indian perspective to global issues ranging from the economic crisis to climate change, energy, skill development, innovation and culture. The programme will also feature a session on India that will look at how India can stimulate its economy, strengthen its regional relations and move forward with reforms in the face of the global slowdown, recent terrorist attacks and the national elections in 2009.

CII and Indian companies would be organizing several events on the sidelines of the Annual Meeting. While CII will organize its traditional annual “India Reception” and breakfast sessions in partnership with Indian companies, many Indian companies like Wipro, Infosys, TCS and IBEF will organize sessions, receptions and Bollywood music evenings in Davos.

The CII delegation includes K V Kamath, President, CII and CEO, ICICI Bank; Mukesh Ambani of Reliance Industries, Nandan Nilekani and Kris Gopalakrishnan of Infosys, Kumar Mangalam Birla of the Aditya Girla Group, Baba Kalyani of Bharat Forge, Deepak Puri of Moser Baer, Malvinder Singh of Ranbaxy, Adi and Jamshyd Godrej, Chandrajit Banerjee of CII, Vineet Nayar of HCL, Sunil Mittal of Bharti, Ashwin Choksi of Asian Paints, Rahul Bajaj of Bajaj Auto, Anil Ambani of Reliance ADAG; Rajendra Pawar of NIIT, Y C Deveshwar of ITC, Uday Kotak of Kotak Mahindra, Vijay Mallya of UB, Azim Premji of Wipro; S Ramadorai of TCS, Dhruv Sawhney of Triveni and KP Singh of DLF; R S Sharma of NTPC; GV Prasad and Satish Reddy  of Dr Reddy’s Labs, among others.

More recent
Earlier on
< Prev   Next >


Mazak - The world's largest machine tool builder
JYOTI - India's most dynamic machine builder
TaeguTec - Cost effective tooling solutions





Subscribe to MACHINIST by Email


RSS 1.0
This site is best viewed with Firefox 2.0 or higher at a minimum screen resolution of 1024x768