Register to Subscribe

Home arrow News arrow Aerospace arrow Dr K Radhakrishnan, Director of VSSC takes over as Chairman of ISRO
Dr K Radhakrishnan, Director of VSSC takes over as Chairman of ISRO Print E-mail
Written by Anand   
Tuesday, 03 November 2009
New Delhi: Dr K Radhakrishnan has taken over from Dr G Madhavan Nair as Secretary, Department of Space, Chairman, Space Commission and Chairman, ISRO.

Dr Radhakrishnan, Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre from 2007 to 2009 and a member of the Space Commission since October 2008, was responsible for realisation of PSLV C-11 launch vehicle. He led a team of about 4500 professionals including more than 2000 Engineers and Scientists and was a key person in the Chandrayaan-1 mission.

Five Polar Satellite Launch Vehicles and 20 spacecrafts were launched successfully under his stewardship.

The outgoing Chairman of ISRO, Dr G Madhavan Nair, during his tenure from September 2003 to October 2009, was responsible for the realisation of 25 successful launch vehicle and spacecraft missions with the pinnacle of his achievement being the successful realisation of India`s first un-manned mission to the Moon Chandrayaan-1.

Dr Madhavan Nair provided the second vision for the Indian Space Programme and also operationlised the launch of multiple satellites using PSLV and was responsible for launch of 18 satellites for international customers and for bagging commercial satellite ventures such as W2M and Hylas for European customers.

Dr K Radhakrishnan started his career as an Avionics Engineer in 1971 at the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre. He held several decisive positions in the Department of Space and ISRO such as Project Director for setting up Regional Remote Sensing Service Centres (1987-89), Director of National Natural Resources Management System-Regional Remote Sensing Service Centres (1989-97), Director of Budget and Economic Analysis for entire ISRO (1987-97), Mission Director of Integrated Mission for Sustainable Development and Deputy Director of National Remote Sensing Agency (1997-2000).

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 03 November 2009 )
Related news
More recent
Earlier on
< Prev   Next >


Mazak - The world's largest machine tool builder
JYOTI - India's most dynamic machine builder
TaeguTec - Cost effective tooling solutions





Subscribe to MACHINIST by Email


RSS 1.0
This site is best viewed with Firefox 2.0 or higher at a minimum screen resolution of 1024x768