Register to Subscribe

Home arrow Automotive arrow Dinesh Trivedi takes over as New Union Railway Minister
Dinesh Trivedi takes over as New Union Railway Minister Print E-mail
Written by Anand   
Wednesday, 13 July 2011
New Delhi: Dinesh Trivedi has been sworn in as the new Union Railway Minister here today. Prior to this, Shri Trivedi was the Union Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare.

Dinesh Trivedi of All India Trinamool Congress was elected to 15th Lok Sabha in the year 2009 from Barrrackpur constituency in West Bengal. In the year 1990, he was elected to Rajya Sabha. In the year 2002 he was re-elected to the Rajya Sabha and also nominated Panel of Vice Chairmen, Rajya Sabha.

During his parliamentary career, he was member of various important parliamentary committees. In 2002 he was Chairman, Passenger Amenities Committee, Ministry of Railways and also Member of various important committees like Rules Committee, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Civil Aviation, Committee on Finance, Committee on Commerce, Committee on Petitioners, Committee on Public Undertakings, General Purposes Committee Co-Convenor Sub-Committee for Special Economic Zones, Committee on Commerce.

A widely travelled person, Shri Dinesh Trivedi has been participating in various social cultural ands sports activities. He is Chairman of various organisations, like (i) Indo EU Parliamentarians forum; and (ii) Calcutta International School; Member (i) Indo American Forum of Parliamentarians Indo British Forum of Parliamentarians; (iii) Indo France Forum of Parliamentarians; (iv) Indo German Forum of Parliamentarians; (v) Indo UK Forum of Parliamentarians; (vi) Indo Japan Forum of Parliamentarians; (vii) Aspan Dialogue, USA; and (viii) Aspan Euro; Managing Trustee, Consumer Protection Centre, Kolkata.

Born on 4th June, 1950 in New Delhi, Shri Trivedi has obtained degrees in B.Com from St. Xavier College, Calcutta University and MBA from University of Texas, USA. He is also a trained pilot.

Soon after taking oath of office and secrecy as Cabinet Minister for Railways, the Railway Minister, accompanied by Chairman Railway Board, Shri Vinay Mittal, Member Mechanical Railway Board, Shri Sanjeev Handa and Member Engineering Railway Board, Shri A. P. Mishra., have rushed to Fatehpur in Uttar Pradesh, the site where Kalka Mail met with an accident on 10th July 2011 due to derailment of 15 of its coaches.

Related news
More recent
Earlier on
< Prev   Next >


Mazak - The world's largest machine tool builder
JYOTI - India's most dynamic machine builder
TaeguTec - Cost effective tooling solutions





Subscribe to MACHINIST by Email


RSS 1.0
This site is best viewed with Firefox 2.0 or higher at a minimum screen resolution of 1024x768